关于疼痛

关于疼痛

疼痛是外周神经感知到的痛觉通过电刺激传递到大脑产生的。众所周知,进入神经细胞的钠是传递电刺激并因此传递疼痛信号所必需的。 Halneuron 及其活性成分河豚毒素可阻止钠进入,从而减少神经冲动沿神经纤维的传导,从而缓解疼痛。

1. 化疗诱发的神经性疼痛 (“CINP”)

美国、5个欧共体国家 和日本在2018 年报道的由化疗引起的神经性疼痛 (CINP) 患者人数估计约为 200 万例,预计将以 1.1% 的累积年增长率增长(根据2018 年 3 月的数据监测)。

对于接受一些最常见癌症治疗的患者来说,CINP 是一个未得到满足的医疗需求领域。 CINP 是由口服或静脉化疗引起的,用于治疗原发肿瘤或转移瘤。引起周围神经病变的常见化疗药物包括紫杉烷类(紫杉醇和多西他赛)、铂类药物(顺铂和奥沙利铂)、长春花生物碱(长春新碱)、沙利度胺和蛋白酶体抑制剂(硼替佐米)。 CINP 可在第一剂化疗后开始,通常与累积剂量有关。 CINP 表现在手、脚,有时甚至是面部,并且可以与手套和长袜式分布延伸,影响小臂和小腿。疼痛通常是刺痛或灼烧感,可以描述为“电感”。

CINP 大大限制了癌症化疗药物的治疗剂量,并且会严重影响日常生活,通常会发展为痛苦的致残状况,导致功能和生活质量的显着丧失。

目前还没有已获批准的治疗化疗诱发神经性疼痛的药物。

2. 癌症相关的疼痛

2017 年全球癌症镇痛药市场价值约 53 亿美元,预计从 2018 年到 2025 年将以 4.5% 的累积年增长率增长(Allied Market Research 2018 年 12 月)。

癌症疼痛是由于疾病本身,或化疗、放疗、手术等不同的治疗方法引起的组织损伤而引起的慢性疼痛。

虽然目前缺乏治疗癌症相关疼痛的有效替代品,但阿片类药物是目前对中度至重度癌症患者最广泛使用的处方药。随着全球癌症患病率的增加以及对癌症疼痛管理的持续未满足的需求,对癌痛药物,尤其是非阿片类止痛药的需求预计将显着增长。

3. 烧伤疼痛

据美国烧伤协会称,每年发生超过 450,000 起严重烧伤事件。烧伤是由热、化学物质、电、阳光或辐射引起的身体组织损害。症状包括疼痛(随着烧伤程度的增加而加重)、皮肤红肿、水泡以及皮肤烧焦和变黑。烧伤的严重程度各不相同,但疼痛是普遍的,尤其是 2 度和 3 度烧伤。

烧伤伤口在治疗过程中会产生过度的疼痛,这会对生活质量和康复产生深远的影响。目前对军人和平民严重烧伤的治疗主要是通过阿片类药物全身给药,这将导致意外和不良副作用,包括心脏和呼吸抑制,以及运动和认知功能下降。严重烧伤患者通常需要长期使用阿片类药物,从而导致对阿片类药物引起的痛觉过敏,耐受性、和依赖性。

烧伤疼痛大鼠模型的结果表明,Halneuron 可以开发为一种有效,且快速起效的民用和军用烧伤镇痛剂。

Halneuron®
for Pain Management

About Pain

Pain is transmitted to the brain as an electrical stimulus from the peripheral nerves where it is perceived as pain. It is known that sodium entering nerve cells are needed for the transmission of electrical stimuli and therefore transmitting pain signals. Halneuron and its active ingredient, Tetrodotoxin, blocks the sodium entry which diminishes the conduction of nerve impulses along nerve fibers, and as a consequence, relieves pain.

1. Chemotherapy Induced Neuropathic Pain (CINP)

Chemotherapy Induced Neuropathic Pain (CINP) patient population in the US, 5EU and Japan was estimated to be ~2 million cases in 2018 and is projected to grow at a CAGR of 1.1% (Data Monitor March 2018).

CINP is an area of unmet medical need for patients treated with some of the most common cancers. CINP is caused by oral or intravenous chemotherapy given to treat the primary tumor or metastases. Common chemotherapy agents that cause peripheral neuropathy include taxanes (paclitaxel and docetaxel), platinum-based drugs (cisplatin and oxaliplatin), vinca alkaloids (vincristine), thalidomide, and proteasome inhibitors (bortezomib). CINP can begin after the first dose of chemotherapy and is often related to cumulative dose. CINP manifests in hands, feet, and sometimes face and can extend in a glove and stocking distribution to affect lower arms and lower legs. The pain is typically of pricking or burning character and may be described as an “electric sensation”.

CINP is a major limitation on the amount of chemotherapy that can be administered to treat cancer and can seriously impact day-to-day function often progressing to a painful disabling condition, causing significant loss of function and quality of life. 

There are currently no approved pain therapies for CINP.


2. Cancer Related Pain

The global cancer pain market was valued at ~$5,3 billion in 2017, and is projected to grow at a CAGR of 4.5% from 2018 to 2025 (Allied Market Research December 2018).

Cancer pain is chronic in nature and results from tissue damage, either due to the disease itself, or due to different treatments such as chemotherapy, radiotherapy, or surgery. 

While there is a lack of effective alternatives currently available to treat cancer related pain, opioids are currently the most widely prescribed for moderate to severe stage cancer patients.  The demand for cancer pain drugs and especially non-opioid pain medication, is expected to exhibit significant growth in line with a projected increase in the prevalence of cancer globally and continued unmet needs for the management of cancer pain.

3. Burn Pain

According to the American Burn Association, over 450,000 serious burn incidents occur each year. A burn is damage to body’s tissues caused by heat, chemicals, electricity, sunlight or radiation. Symptoms include pain, increasing with each degree of burn, red and swollen skin, blisters and charred and blackened skin. The severity of burn wounds varies, but pain is universal and is especially painful in 2nd and 3rd degree burns. 

Burn wounds produce excessive pain during treatment, which can have a profound impact on the quality of life and rehabilitation. Current management of severe burn pain, both in military and civilian populations, is primarily through the systemic delivery of opioids, causing unintended and adverse side effects including cardiac and respiratory depression, and decrease in motor and cognition function. Extended opioid use is often necessary for severely burned patients and can lead to tolerance, opioid-induced hyperalgesia, and dependence. 

Results from a rat model of burn pain suggest that Halneuron and TTX could be developed as an effective, rapidly acting analgesic for civilian and military burn injuries.